Senate approves June 12 as Democracy Day, concurs with Reps on five other bills

Spread the love

The Senate on Thursday concurred with the Public Holiday Act (Amendment) Bill, passed by the House of Representatives, which approved June 12 as Democracy Day.

This followed presentation of conference report by the Leader of the Senate, Senator Ahmad Lawan, at plenary on Thursday.

In his remarks, the President of the Senate, Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, put the conference report to a voice vote and it was adopted by the lawmakers.

In the bill, which was passed by the House of Representatives on November 26, 2018, the current democracy date, which is May 29, was deleted and replaced with June 12.

On June 12, 1993, presidential election was held and adjudged to be the freest in the country’s history.

However, the results were annulled by the then Head of State, General Ibrahim Babangida.

In the process, one of the presidential candidates who was reported to have polled most votes, Moshood Abiola, lost his life.

NAN reports that 25 years after, President Muhammadu Buhari in 2018 announced that the nation’s Democracy Day would hold on June 12 of every year as against current arrangement where the ceremony holds it on May 29.

The National Assembly however needed to amend the public holiday act to give the directive a legal backing to make it binding.

Meanwhile, the senate concurred with five other House of Representatives bills.

Among them are: Federal Capital Territory Area Councils Service Commission, Nigeria Natural Medicine Development Agency, Projects Development Agency Enugu and Data Protection Bill.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *